Skip to main content

Guide to who does what in local government

There are 3 tiers of Local Government – County Council, Borough Council and Town Council. Councils are made up of individual Councillors, who are elected to serve the needs of their locality. Town Councils represent the first tier of Local Government – the tier closest to local residents. 

Lancashire County Council

The County Council is responsible for:

  •  Highways include road maintenance, street lighting, signage, parking enforcement, and many more.
  • Trading Standards
  • Children, education, and families
  • Health and social care
  • Transport and travel
  • Roads, potholes, repairs, and gritting
  • Recycling Centres
  • Fire and public safety
  • Flooding
  • Libraries and archives
  • Trading standards
  • Births, marriages, and deaths
  • Local Authority Schools

Pendle Borough Council

Pendle Council is responsible for:

  • Waste Collection
  • Council Tax and Benefits
  • Planning and Building Control
  • Licensing and Law
  • Business Support and Advice
  • Environmental Health (including animal welfare)
  • Elections
  • Bereavement Services
  • Taxis
  • Bins
  • Housing

Brierfield Parish Council

Brierfield Town Council is responsible for:

  • MUGA’s and Play areas (Chatburn Park Drive playground, Sackville Street Playground and MUGA, Massey Street playground and Taylor Street MUGA)
  • Benches
  • Bus Shelter (on Higher Reedley Road)
  • CCTV
  • Christmas Lights / festive decorations
  • Summer and winter flower planting
  • Allotments
  • Brierfield Town Hall
  • Brierfield Community Centre