MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL TOWN MEETING HELD AT BRIERFIELD COMMUNITY CENTRE ON 13TH MAY, 2019

Chair: Councillor Iram Ghous

1.

Councillors Present:

Sajjad Ahmed Mohammad Hanif Pauline McCormick Mohammad Altaf Yasser Iqbal Qamar Shazad Naeem Ashraf Ali Ahmed Zahir Imtiaz Collete Brown Kath Bennett Saqib Hussain

Apologies:

None.

2. Declarations of Interest.

There were no declarations of interest

3. Public Question Time

There were no public questions.

- 4. To approve the minutes of the Town Council meeting held on 13th May, 2018 It was agreed that the minutes were a true and accurate record.
- 5. To consider a Report of the Council Receipts and Payments for the year 2018 2019
 The report was accepted and approved.

6. Review of the year of office by Councillor Sajjad Ahmed

Shazad Aslam reported upon his year in office as the Mayor of Brierfield. He had attended many events and had been made very welcome at all. He stated that it was an honour to have had the opportunity to represent Brierfield. He expressed thanks to his friends, colleagues and Councillors for their support throughout the year.

7. Elections for 2019 - 20

a. Mayor of Brierfield for the year 2019 - 20

There was only 1 nomination: Councillor Iram Ghous Councillor Iram Ghous was elected as Mayor for the year 2019 - 20

b. Presentation of the Chains of Office to the new Mayor of Brierfield

The Chains of Office were then presented to Councillor Iram Ghous by Shahzad Aslam and Councillor Mohammad Hanif.

c. Mayor's speech

Councillor Iram Ghous thanked fellow Councillors for this honour and said she was looking forward to representing Brierfield.

d. Presentation of the Mayor's shield to Councillor Sajjad Ahmed

Councillor Iram Ghous presented the Mayor's shield to Shahzad Aslam.

e. Election of the Deputy Mayor for the year 2019 - 20

There was only 1 nomination: Councillor Saqib Hussain Councillor Saqib Hussain was elected as Deputy-Mayor for the year 2019 - 20

f. Election of the Chair of Finance Administration and Planning Committee

Councillor Mohammad Hanif was elected as Chair for the year 2019 – 20

g. Election of the Vice-Chair of Finance Administration and Planning Committee

Councillor Mohammad Altaf was elected as Vice-Chair for the year 2019 - 20

Representation on Committee / Working Groups / Outside bodies

h. Brierfield and Reedley Area Committee

Councillor Sajjad Ahmed was elected.

i. Finance Administration and Planning Committee

The following Councillors were elected on to the Committee: Sajjad Ahmed, Mohammad Altaf, Naeem Ashraf, Mohammad Hanif, Yasser Iqbal, Iram Ghous, Saqib Hussain, Zahir Hussain and Qamar Shazad.

j. Staffing Committee

The following Councillors were elected on to the Committee: Mohammad Altaf, Naeem Ashraf, Sajjad Ahmed, Yasser Iqbal and Mohammad Hanif.

k. Terms of reference

The terms of reference were all approved for Finance Administration and Planning Committee, Mayor and Staffing Committee.

11. Date of next Annual Town meeting

Next Annual meeting will be held on Monday 18th May, 2020

Signed:		Date:	1 st June,	2021
---------	--	-------	-----------------------	------

Councillor